a boyish quilt

A request came through in April (I think) for me to sew a baby blanket. I was excited! No matter what sewing project that came through, I’m always excited about it. But quilt blanket, oooh! it’s more than excitement, a mixture of excitement and I-don’t-know-how-to-describe-feeling because I get to use more than 2 fabrics, how I want the blanket to look like, will the baby like it (ok, more of will the mummy or the person who ordered from me like it?), will it be too oldish, too dull, too bright, too girly (yes! I have more girls’ fabric than boys), too mature and many many thoughts that went through my mind.

halftri-bbquilt1.6halftri-bbquilt1,1

Pulled out many boys fabric that I have in the cupboard, matching them, looking at them, putting them back thinking that it’s not suitable. Went on teaching and schooling the little ones and went back again to look at the fabrics that were on the table. Back and forth countless times. In fact, it took me a while to decide on the fabric used.

halftri-bbquilt1,2If I were to make this again (which I will be because my son has sent in his request after this blanket was completed!), I would cut the squares differently. Instead of two half triangles to form a square, I would just cut 1 square and sew each side with a triangle šŸ™‚

halftri-bbblanket1.4

halftri-bbquilt1.5

halftri-bbquiltcompletedFor the little baby, hopefully he likes it as much as my son šŸ™‚ For my son, I don’t have the heart to tell him “son, it’s not going to be now, soon…”

Till the next post, blessed weekend to all!
jean.

6 thoughts on “a boyish quilt

    1. Hi!! Thank you šŸ™‚ depending on size, fabric used and also design of the quilt, charges are different too šŸ™‚ do drop me a mail if you are interested šŸ™‚ looking forward to hearing from you šŸ™‚

      Like

Thank you for commenting!

