valuable lesson …

A conversation between me and my son made me realised that he is growing up in his way of thinking after the recent demise of his great grandma.

He talked about her alot for the past few days after her passing on and also how he has regretted not giving her the card (forgot to bring along) he made for her birthday when we celebrated with her two Saturdays ago. Her departure was somewhat sudden and we didn’t get to see her for the last time after that saturday but we believed that it is the Lord’s timing for her. She didn’t suffer much during her last few minutes.

Our conversation went like this:

After making some clothing for missy, little boy came to me one day last week and asked, “Mama, when can you make for me?” Awww … How not to when I heard this from my little boy so I excitedly said, “Ok, son. Come, let’s select fabric!”. I took out a few fabric for him to choose and I am telling you here that he sure knows where to find and in fact, he didn’t really look through all and just pointed, “That one, Ma!”

fabric1-1

The fabric he has chosen, I bought it for him without him knowing because it is his favorite cd show. Bought and kept for at least 2 years not knowing what to sew. I asked him to choose another one because in my heart, I just didn’t want to cut into this fabric because it is simply lovely. (I think I unknowingly building fabric treasure at home!)

fabric1-2 What he said next was truly out of my expectation and it has deeply etched into my heart. This was what he said:

“Ma, we have to use this fabric because we won’t know when Jesus will come and if He come tomorrow, you cannot sew for me anymore using this fabric”.

I was stunned but pleasantly surprised by what my 5 years old said to me. Ah how true it is! It sets me thinking, if my Lord comes tomorrow, I cannot bring all my favorite fabric with me. I cannot sew for them using all these fabric which I thought (still is) are lovely and should be kept for future use where it tends to get neglected or forgotten. But starting a hobby is really like collecting fabrics especially so for pretty ones. My children applied what they were taught before and I think I should too. Having said that, it doesn’t means that they don’t treasure what was given to them because they really do and keeping a lot of them till we couldn’t find space and needed to be given away. Just not too excessively.

Matthew 6:19-21 KJV
[19] Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal: [20] But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal: [21] For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.

I truly thank God for His humble lesson for me through my child. Praise His Name!

fabric1-3~ jean.

5 thoughts on “valuable lesson …

  1. So heartening to know that your son understands that the Lord’s timing is beyond our understanding. That’s spirtual maturity there. So what are you planning to sew for him?

    Like

    1. Thanks Susan for your kind words! I am just so contented to hear that from him and thought to myself, hmm.. he is growing up and too fast!! I am planning to make a shirt and a vest for him… but i find it so sayang to cut into the blue one because it is a full pic of the town. πŸ™‚ so i might change my mind heh!

      Like

  2. The little wise man is right you know? So cute lah! Aiyah, you can take a photo of the fabric before you cut them up. All your fabric are gorgeous but if you keep them folded up and in your cupboard forever, then nobody else will be able to admire them the same way you do. Then ah (touch wood) sekali the critters attack them or they turn colour how? Wasted! Use lah!

    Like

Thank you for commenting!

