… as a child

A good read from The Heart of Anger. A small portion taken and some of my thoughts –

1 Corinthians 13:11a KJV
[11] When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child.

unrealisticExp

I recalled that I used to have high expectation for my children (not that I don’t have now just that understanding changes). Children think, speak and reason differently, the development process takes time. Children grow at different rates too and these factors need to be considered when we established expectations for them. Emphasis should be on character, not achievement.

Most importantly is, don’t impose our super high expectation upon them that they are incapable of performing. Our children will be frustrated when they are not able to meet the expectation. Therefore, setting an appropriate standards, expectations and guiding them along will make them a better achiever in their character and things they do.

A good reminder for myself as I face my kids 24×7!! 🙂

tlll the next post, bye! ~jean.

Thank you for commenting!

