Timeout …

It has been about two weeks since I returned from a short five days vacation with a long time friend. The trip was great, I am thankful that my better half made it possible for me to go with a peaceful heart by helping me to take care of our two children. Yes! I am definitely joyful.

IMG_20140304_100127

Personally, I think every full-time stay-at-home or homeschooling mum treasures every moment for herself when they come but such moments are quite rare.

Every morning, I am trying to wake up early before my children so that I could just have some quiet moment before homeschooling starts, to get all the house chores done (which is quite impossible unless I wake up much earlier), read some books (which I do sometimes when children having their writings and don’t need much supervision), do some quiet shopping (running errands without having to bring all along to quicken the process) or sew to my heart’s content (I would absolutely love to have this). HA! Or maybe have a slow, quiet lunch 😛 Praying for my loved ones without any distracting thoughts is a blessing. 

Guilt comes when I feel that I “steal” an hour or so (maybe less since they will come looking for me) for myself hiding in the kitchen while my children work on their books, but I came to understand that at times, I do need the timeout for myself (I think my husband too for working so hard for us). Came back to being a content, happy mum and a teacher to them, I think they will enjoy having me around and not a mum who snaps at them when the tiredness overcome the weak flesh 🙂

IMG_20140304_105218

In this way, we can also stay emotionally and spiritually healthy too. I learnt to appreciate the nature that God has created while I was away. Mountains after mountains, the clear blue skies and oceans.

I am thankful to my parents who came to take the children for a day. They went groceries shopping, I was told. They had a wonderful bonding time together and the little experience my parents had with them was heartwarming. I thank God!

IMG_20140304_104959God knows I can’t homeschool on my own alone, thus during the week I am not around, my dear husband took over and produced good results. 🙂 Again, thankful!

Blessed be the LORD, because he hath heard the voice of my supplications. The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped (Psalm 28:6-7a).

IMG_20140304_110313

Have a lovely Tuesday! ~ jean.

6 thoughts on “Timeout …

  1. Good to hear that u manage to take a break without the kids, and spend some time with a good friend, you deserve it! For home-schooling mums like yourself, I think it is even more important that u regularly take time off for yourself.

    I am also particular about spending time away from Kyle, have yet to travel without him since he was 2. I have more flexibility now since he goes to primary school, so I have alot more time to myself on the weekdays if I am not swamped by work!

    Like

    1. Thank you rachel. Yes the trip does me some good and I’m back with more patience and you know what, I am looking forward to next year ha!

      Glad to know that you have some me time too while kyle is at school. You can plan one with pauline when you girls are ready to go 🙂

      Like

  2. Sounds like you’ve been recharged Jean. Good that you took time out for yourself. I think that it’s very important as mum to do it from time to time so that you will be a happy mum because I believe a happy mum= happy children too 🙂

    Like

  3. I think all Mums have that guilt when we steal time away with our child just so we can do our things. But I guess we all have to live with it as the “me” time will recharge us and give us more energy to take care of them. And looks like you have enjoyed your trip and is ready for more time with them. 🙂

    Like

    1. Haha ok i’m glad I’m not the only one feeling that way. Sometimes my short me-time is not the kitchen alone but the washroom as well *oops* the trip was indeed good.

      Like

Thank you for commenting!

