Terrarium | Garden in a Pot

Before I was introduced to terrarium-making, I wasn’t really interested in making one. Heard of it, but it’s just that. Never really bother to find out more about them though I love growing small pots of plants at home. Note: I don’t have green fingers, but as I slowly understand the nature of certain plants I have at home, it still took me a while to keep them alive.

But that Saturday morning, meant for the kids to have fun and learn something new, turned out to be I am the one who gained more knowledge of it.

After that lovely session, I actually went to dig into the storeroom to look for the squarish vase I bought from Ikea years ago to explore both open and closed terrarrium. Till date, I am still learning and exploring different types of plants but I love nerve plants also known as fittonia best. I find it hardy, doesn’t need a lot of water as long as you ensure that the soil is moist and it will stay strong and healthy, away from direct sunlight. When it lacks water, it will go limp (not dead yet) but when you water the soil, it will come back alive pretty quickly. The feeling, of removing the plants carefully from their original pot and replanting them into a nice glassware, planning how it looks like, adding moss to make it look like a garden and finally adding those cute figurines, is tremendously calming 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had a sweet fellowship on Monday with friends while making closed terrarium, I didn’t make these, they did! I just took photos and gave advice here and there, but seeing them enjoying the session as we chatted gave me a sense of satisfaction. These terrariums make good gifts too with so much love and patience put into making one. Haha! I must be mad but I can ‘see’ the smile from the recipient when the person receives such valuable gift 🙂

~ jean.

Thank you for commenting!

