Making Good: Mending a Bear

image

I participated in a Repair Blog Train hosted by Green Issues by Agy.

image

What is it about?

Mending, Repairing or Making Good of household items or any handmade through various means depending on what you need to mend.

As compared to my grandma’s time, these days not many people would want to repair stuff that is damaged or spoilt due to wear and tear as everything is within reach. It can range from big item like furniture to the smallest personal stuff such as jewelry (I am guilty as well). It may sound daunting or hard to do as not everyone has the mean (tools and space) to repair certain items. So, if something was spoilt, torn and old, what do we do? Throw it? Fix it? Or leave it (in the storeroom)?

However, I am sure that everyone will have something precious which you won’t bear to trash.

A friend has a bear which she kept for about 30 years or more – vintage! It is also very dear to her because it was made for her by her aunt when she was a baby then.

Due to many years of being kept away and slowly the felt gave way and sign of wear and tear appeared. It is very sad to just dump it because of the fond memories she has had.

image

image

image

image

So, when she approached me to see if her bear can be fixed. I said, “Yes, why not?”

I had some rough ideas what to do but didn’t realized that some parts of the bear were difficult to fix. It isn’t as easy as I thought it would be.

Why?

Because the felt was giving way, a gentle tug here and there will give a new tear. I began with the head as it looked less daunting. In fact, the minute I saw the bear, handiplast came to mind so I attempted that. Sounds easy, right? :):) I went on, put a stop, change fabric, redo the stitches and eventually the plaster was done. Haha! Hope it looked like a plaster as I didn’t want the bear to look like he has a big scar stitch on its forehead 😉

Next, the big hole at the neck needed to be fixed. But what do I do? It’s big and quite ugly to just sew it up. Pondered over lunch and decided to make a bow to cover up the hole.

But.

Something is missing. The bear was out of place. The attire doesn’t seemed right. He needed a suit! But it will take me a while to make him a proper suit so a dungarees (aka jumpers) was chosen to go over the white baby singlet.

image

image

Using brown embroidery floss (3 strands), 3 ‘X’ were sewn on the front of this dungarees (jumpers) as embellishment.

image

image

Likewise, the same brown embroidery floss (3 strands) was used to add as embellishment to the hem of the dungarees. Love the effect! It made the dungarees less boring, isn’t it?:)

image

These are metal snap buttons. I love to use these in my handmade for bags or small purses and really easy to use. This time, I used them to fasten the dungarees’ straps.

image“How is it? How is it?” asked the anxious me.

I am not done yet. The bear needed a full makeover.
image

There was a slight tear at the ear so I used a curve needle to fix it using the embroidery method.
image

The hands and legs had some tiny tears and seemed impossible to sew up without making the other tears bigger so I cut up 4 rounds shape using quilted cotton and patched it over.

image

image

Ta-da!!!! The bear is fixed! I am very happy to see it done. Would I do it again if it needed another fix? YES!!!! Though I faced some problems mostly due to how or what methods to use to fix it, I enjoyed tremendously in all form of stitching and the satisfaction I get is wonderful. I am also glad that the dungarees fit (okay, slightly longer than planned but that’s alright, I hope) 🙂

image

Oh oh! Eyes of the bear were touched up too 🙂

image

Thanks Agy for the invitation and I truly enjoyed reading posts from other bloggers of what they had done to making good of their items.

The next blogger to be part of this “Making Good” blog train is Maya of The Little Treasures. Do hop over to read her post tomorrow 🙂

*************

This post is part of a blog train hosted by Agatha from Green Issues by Agy on “Making Good”.

What is repair, and why do we even bother to repair the things we have? Some see repair as a way of reconnecting with our possessions as we extend their lives. Others see it as a form of creative potential and an avenue to express their craft. The rewards for mending varies from feeling immense satisfaction to prolonging the life of the product.

Follow the “Making Good” blog train this month and see what we have repaired and reconnected with. Have you mended anything today?

4 thoughts on “Making Good: Mending a Bear

  1. This repair is absolutely adorable. I love how you have used swatches of fabric to cover up the worn areas, and the use of the bowtie is ingenious. Now I think I will bring out my teddy to mend too!

    Like

    1. Thanks Agatha 🙂 it’s timely to receive your invitation to mend and i am glad i did mend and share about it thru this blog train post.

      Like

Thank you for commenting!

