We baked! Banana Cupcakes

IMG_20140528_190513

INGREDIENTS:

4 bananas (mashed)
1 cup baking white sugar (already reduced)
3 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup vegetable oil
2-3/4 cups and 2 tablespoons self-rising
flour
2-3/4 teaspoons baking soda
1/4 cup buttermilk (we replaced with milk)
1 cup chopped Walnut (optional)
DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 150 degrees C. Prepare 20 muffin cups.
2. Beat mashed bananas and white sugar together lightly in a bowl until smooth. Add beaten eggs (portion into 3 parts) one at a time. Mix in vegetable oil until it’s well-blended. Stir in flour, baking soda, and milk/buttermilk, mix well. Fold in walnut (in any). Fill 3/4 cup with batter.Tips: For cupcakes or muffins to be fluffy (moist) and soft, start with flour and end with flour when you stir it in (I was told by an expert who bakes lovely cupcakes and muffins).
3. Bake in the preheated oven for 20 minutes. If the toothpick inserted in the center of a cupcake comes out clean, it is cooked. You can top it with lemon cream cheese, but we didn’t do that.

My lovely girl followed the instructions given and baked her first batch with little help from me (I am proud of her!). She said (after tasted one compared to the final product out of the oven), “The look is deceiving!”. True that. We were worried that the cupcakes/muffins (alright, I couldn’t decide which name to use,hmm..) didn’t turn up well because of uneven browning but she is right, the look is, indeed, deceiving! It’s soft and fluffy!

We tweaked the recipe from allrecipes.com a little bit by changing the serving to about 20, reduced sugar and increased the bananas. The above recipe is what we had changed from the original. Otherwise, you can refer to the above link 🙂

Happy baking! And a lovely weekend to you!

Jean.

4 thoughts on “We baked! Banana Cupcakes

    1. Initially I was quite skeptical abt baking banana cupcakes or anything that uses banana as I dont quite like to handle ripen bananas but since daughter wants to bake and I gave the go ahead with any recipe u choose, I have to bite the bullet and give it a go! And I must say I totally change my opinion on ripen bananas!! It’s delicious! Thanks for dropping by, Whitney!

      Like

  1. Hi Jean,
    It has been a long time since I attended a lesson of sewing with you !

    Your banana cupcake looks so good…. and you used vegetable oil instead of butter ?
    May I know what type of vegetable oil did you use ?

    Thanks for sharing, will try your recipe 🙂

    Warm regards
    Doris

    Like

    1. Hello Doris, how have you been? Thank you 🙂 the bananas cupcakes still retains its moistness after a day. I used canola oil. Happy baking! 🙂

      Like

Thank you for commenting!